Top Ten finish?………..maybe

My season generally finishes in October and having ridden the Lincoln Grand prix earlier with Christopher my brother-in-law, he sowed the seed of the Matlock Top 10 to me. Only a short 40 miles, it is set in the Derbyshire dales and takes in 10 climbs around the area; not least are 3 of the top 100 Greatest climbs of Great Britain, Bank Road, the Riber Road and Rowsley Bar. I love to tick these off and this would bring me to 20 that I have completed.

The sportive is a different one to my usual fare, more of a budget EasyJet style it would seem to British Airways as the entry fee was cheaper but then it was a small field anyway of 200 or so riders. Your timing chip is a dibber, a plastic timing chip that you have to “dib” at 4 places to record your time, the start, the feed station, the finish and the download box to get your finish time. This would be a whole new experience for me, more like an audax.

Dibbers

The route again is clockwise starting from Darley Dale, riding up and down the hills that overlook the river Derwent with the first climb within 1km from the start. A bit earlier that than the Tour de Yorkshire nice and the climbing does not relent from there. No flat sections at all so this was going to fun or torture. Still it had to be done.

The whole area is stunning if painful on a bike but hills are hills and if you want to achieve anything on a bike then you have to ride them. The pain you suffer is incomparable to the satisfaction of the achievement.

Christopher my brother in law picked me up from Sheffield and we drove to Darley Dale. The morning dawned to reveal a cloudy mist enveloping the Peak District hills. This wasn’t forecast! We descended one hill towards Darley Dale and realised this was Syndhope Hill, we both looked at each other and grinned both knowing what we were thinking without saying it. Help!

We parked up in a tree lined road that was bedecked with fallen leaves. With a wet road these were going to make descending tricky.

Darleyy Dale leaves

On the way up to registration was Darley Dale station and level crossing something of the past, on the Peak District Railway.

Darley Dale level crossing

Yesteryear

Registration

I got my number,103 to fix to my bike, Chris looked decidedly chipper, dibber around my wrist and got ready. No rider briefing it was dib your dibber into a box held by a marshal and off.

Numbers, mine 103

Chris before

Dibber attached lets go!

Out of the local council offices we crossed over the A6 and onto the Chesterfield Road to be greeted with the first hill climb sign. Each one had one of these showing length, maximum and average gradient.

Signage

Syndhope Hill it was, a short straight uphill followed by 2 hairpins at 30% on the inside. Boy what a start. Pea Royd was worse but again hardly warmed up it was sit it out and grind. The event described it as “Straight into the climbing from the off! Sydnope is steep and long, there is a brief rest two thirds up but it will do little to ease the pain. The initial hairpins through Two Dales will instantly warm up any cold legs. Quite possibly the most vicious start to a sportive ever! Then again there isn’t anything else quite like the Matlock Top 10!”

Syndhope Hill coming

Getting to the top

Well Chris got into his usual climbing rythym and I just plodded up in my own way. The section to Two Dales after the hairpins allowed you to recover if slightly before ramping up again. Chris slowed up to allow me to catch him before a turn right and a descent back to Matlock. “One down nine to go” I said to receive another wry smile from Chris. Welcome to the Dales!

Already I was thinking about the next hills and fearing the Riber rated 9/10 in the 💯 climbs. I have done ones rated 10/10 but was concerned. I was also puffing away recovering down Farley Lane. The weather was poor really with not much to see which was disappointing but then the roads were were on were narrow, wet and greasy. I would descend with brakes a lot quicker than Chris but knew he would catch me on the climbs. This would be a feature of the day.

Descending

At the bottom we turned on to the A6 again and into Matlock where we would encounter Bank Road, the steepest residential road climb in Britain. You turn left and it’s laid out in front of you for around half a mile. The event described it as “Short but very steep. This climb has a very different feel to the last one. Climbing up through the town of Matlock the road is straight and relentless with only a mini-respite as you cross Smedley Street 2/3 of the way up – it then ramps up again after that. You can just about see the top all the way up but that won’t make it arrive any quicker. ”

Already hurting from the first one I engaged the lowest gear early. The road is straight and all you could see were the odd rider slowly churning out the hill in front. I gritted my teeth and turned the pedals without looking too far up in front of me.

Bank Road sorry it’s blurred

Up up it went passed the Derbyshire County Council offices and I was struggling. Too much climbing without a warm up I suppose. I saw Chris round a corner towards the top and pushed on. Round the corner the gradient relented and I could recover slightly. Gasping one rider from Derby CC said to me “it’s not closed roads” I said “I know that why do you say that to me?”. “You are weaving”, yes I was on my side of the road but not all across it so it didn’t matter. “What a prat!” I said to myself.

Anyway Chris waited for me at a junction before turning right and descending back down to Matlock again. 2 down I thought but the killer to come. Chris mentioned he had an issue with a brake pad but on we went.

At the bottom there was no roll out to a flat road just straight across and up the next road Chapel Hill passed Matlock Church, on the way to the Riber.

Matlock church

As Chris came passed me I said must be the start of the Riber but that was yet to come as the gradient was okay but manageable through Starkholmes and we turned left then right and the hill hits you. The sign said just a half a mile but an average of 15% with plenty of 25% I was not looking forward to it. immediately engaging climbing gear, the granny and I prepared for a short 25% spell in hell!

As the road surface deteriorated the first hairpin arrived. I swung out hoping a car would not be coming down. The gradient here was easier and turned to the left onwards upwards Chris disappearing round the next bend, I slowly got to the second hairpin round the outside again to see more 15-20%. I was gasping more up the road into the trees seeing another turn to the left. It was my target and praying the top was near.

Each climb had a symbol at the top identifying the end of your pain, it couldn’t come soon enough. As I got round the bend still grinding the granny, I saw the crest. One last effort and it would be over. Come on don’t let it defeat you. Turn the pedals, turn, turn, heave and then etched with a steely grimace I was captured by the event photographer at the top.

Relief!

Looking back at the topof the Riber

I stopped where Chris was waiting for me to gather myself. Around 8 miles in and we’d done as much climbing already on my total daily commute of 30 miles.

We set off again turning right for a nice long steady descent although the weather again obstructed any view.

Typical view

At the bottom of the hill was the mill of John Smedley Ltd with its arch over the road.

John Smedley Arch and Lea Mill climb of Holt Woods off to the left.

I then started thinking of the history of this area with its woolen mills as all fields had mainly sheep in them, some with cows with very little grain at all.

However under the arch was an immediate turn left up Lea Mill road passed Holt Woods, perhaps the easiest climb of the four so far. The road was wider and therefore easier as a road. I sat in and conserved energy when in fact I could have gone faster.

As usual with Chris at the top I lead us down towards the beautifully named Whatstandwell, passed Nightingale Park. The park was particularly well manicured but here my phone started to play up and I would not be able to take anymore photos. No bad thing as the weather wasn’t good for this.

I kept checking for Chris whilst descending to ensure he was near and would coast along the valley floor, to allow him to catch up, not that I needed to, as just over the Derwent we turned left and on to the climb to Alderwasley.

Two miles long you just had to pace it up it, not before we encountered a car coming down that waited for us to pass, when it had enough room for a Sherman tank. Chris motored off as the climb entered the trees again.

With a small field, I was happy since I didn’t get the urge to catch anyone or worry if a faster rider came passed but with a rider’s red light always flashing in front you knew you were near others. The road flattened out passed a mucky and smelly farm before turning right and up Chapel Hill. No summit sign yet. The hill was manageable and by now I felt ok having found my climbing rhythm; well if I hadn’t by now God help me!

Here there were plenty of typical quaint wisteria covered cottages and I envisaged some 19th century writer here writing some novel, if one ever did. I caught Chris up before we descended down to Wirksworth, perhaps this is why I my minded drifted to writers.

Down over a rapid descent we flattened out to see the Ecclesbourne Valley railway before the short climb up into Wirksworth. A village come town in Peak District sandstone brick work I looked back to see Chris about 10m behind.

Again crossing over the centre we hit the next climb of Wirksworth. A short, sharp no-nonsense ascent and there are no recovery sections to it. It really ramped up at bottom 20%+ as it wound its way through the outskirts then it was just steep all the way to the top.  Riders passed me as we bore right and climbed further. Along the top I caught Chris again before a short descent to Middleton.

With the sixth climb done I started to feel okay as I turned left onto a cycle way and the next obstacle. As we slowed to exit on to a road a car slowed itself to allow us out but we wanted it to go on. I nearly came a cropper. The car went on but then inexplicably turned around.

Anyway here was a short climb that was not on the list that I ghosted up and I joked to Chris it was nice of him to beat him up one of the climbs even if it wasn’t one on the list.

We traversed the top before descending  sharp 20% twisting road to a junction where there were road closed signs. We hadn’t even done 21 miles yet as that was the feedstation.

Once Chris caught me up we couldn’t believe we were in our big rings for once on the sweeping road to Bonsall. Around us were signs warning motor bike riders so obviously this was their playground but not today as we went down the closed road.

As we got to Bonsall we turned left and straight into another 1 in 5 climb from the off. Bonsall Road was the 7 th climb in the sequence and a brute to start with. Again just straight and at bottom and tough since as with the others you had no run at it.

I puffed and gasped my way up the hill with Chris disappearing as usual. However the reward for your effort is the feedstation at halfway.

Feed station

Bonsall square

It was still dank and dingy weatherwise but we stocked up with water and food. Boy what a piece of fruit cake that was on offer. I’d felt hunger pangs up the Bonsall road but this cake was beautiful and replenished lost reserves. Note to self, get some!

Leaving the feed station after “dibbing”, the road climbed onwards but the worst was over. It would be the longest climb of the day. It was a grind but I was happy. It was here I was being followed by a car that could not pass me on the narrow road, it would have to wait.

We were at the highest point of the ride and again any view spoilt by the low cloud. The road eventually dropped to a junction and to turn right towards Winster. This was a twisting technical descent to be taken with care. Treacherous in these conditions with a T junction at the bottom.

Turning right I saw the first sign for Darley Dale but I knew there were 3 climbs left but also on the road were signs of where a burnt out car had been. Winster felt as though I was in a Cotswold village as it looked the same. Chris and I were now on a flatter section before another rapid descent where we turned left. I hoped he would see this turn as the short course went straight on.

On turning left we started a long drag climb towards Stanton Lees. Passing a large factory of some kind, Chris caught me up and we started a small descent. “Oh dear” he said as he looked up to where we were going. The road narrowed slightly before rising up. we were riding sided by side up the lane and I got caught on the opposite side by a car coming down. I acknowledged to say sorry and tucked in. we were passed by a rider not on the event on a cross bike with mammoth wheels. I couldn’t believe his pace as he sped off into the distance

As we climbed up a sharp road I saw the golden shrouded trees of the woods to my left and hoped the road didn’t go that way. I concentrated on the matters in had pushing myself up the 15% gradient and suddenly saw we were turning left. Oh Joy!

It was here I saw Stanton Lees chapel on the corner and the gradient ramped up. Out of the saddle and up as best I could trying to chase Chris down at around 20+%. It was a killer I can tell you. this picture from google shows the gradient.

The road up Stanton Lees

After an energy sapping effort the road levelled out but still climbed as you were engulfed by the trees. The road snaked around all the while climbing round the hill.

A car was parked by the side of the road. A mother and child were encouraging you and I heard her say “Ah it’s Wooly’s Wheels, I wondered what your shirt said”. She had been the car following me previously after Bonsall.

On I pressed as we broke out towards the top. Whilst I had been suffering I felt strangely ok. Chris was waiting for me again and I asked if he was ok but he said even he was getting tired. This course was relentless very little flat one climb and descent followed another.

Our descent here turned right and after a short lived moment of pleasure we had an immediate turn right to double back on yourself to the climb of Stanton Peak. Effectively climbing back up towards Stanton Lees again. Again no run at the hill as all speed and power lost we rose up slightly before the only hairpin bend with a 15% gradient. I took it on the outside again and then settled in.

I had read the rider brief and knew this climb was about 3/4rs of a mile long. By now the sun was starting to peak through the clouds but we then encountered around 40 ramblers walking down the road. there’s always one bright spark (I should know!) saying “Wait to you get to the really steep bit!” in his best northern accent as loudly as he could.

The climb was steady up towards the church but suddenly there seemed quite a few cyclists around us probably 10 or so; the biggest group we were in for a long while.

The church

We pressed on forever up ward through a chicane at the centre of the village with its quaint little pub before the climbed relented and we turned left.

Pub

Chris and I checked we were ok before traversing across the top of some fields before plunging down a tricky technical descent with a 25% drop with loads of “Care” warning signs in narrow trees. I was circumspect to say the least but as for Chris I had no idea what speed he was doing but doubt he enjoyed it.

A pop over a bridge and we arrived at the main road to Matlock. However I knew it was 9 down and one to go, Rowsley bar and what a climb this would be. Rated 6/10 by Simon Warren whereas the Riber was 9/10. I didn’t fear it as much but knew I would have to take my time.

Turning left then first right the initial ramp is laid out in front as though you are cycling back up a ski jump to the woods. the road was busier than the others with cars and cyclists coming the other way. The climb just got steeper and steeper. No tune in my head just concentrating on the road and my wheel going round and round.

The road up the bar

I left one ring on the back as though I didn’t know the road felt there was some trouble to come. On I pedaled and caught a lady as we turned right towards a flatter section that seemed to give you some respite. I mentioned this to here and she replied “then its the twisting hairpin section”. Oh Lordy they love their hairpins here!

On towards the hairpins

As the road narrows I could see the first hairpin and I thought come on just do it last hill. Chris was disappearing round the first bend and I gave it one last effort. I dropped to my last gear and as I rounded the bend saw the next hairpin with Chris walking Oh dear what was he doing.

I was determined to keep going as I slowly ground out that 30 or sop meters to the bend. Rounding it I heard a rider encouraging Chris to get on and ride up. The road was getting steeper and cars were around. I shouted come on Chris as I barely turned my pedals for the next 100 meters or so to another left bend.

He was walking faster than me pedalling I think  as I could hardly catch him but on I pushed slowly but surely whilst avoiding other traffic. No other rider came passed me at all as I turned to the left hoping this was the last turn. The relief of seeing a flatter road and sky around 50/100 metres in front drove me on and with one last effort I got to the top but no summit symbol.

I looked at my Garmin map profile and saw there was more to come. I was exhausted but noticed that this was a flatter section before the final push. I didn’t initially wait for Chris as I knew he would get back on and catch me at the next climb.

On I pedaled  telling one rider there was more to come as he thought it was over and passed the event photographer. Suddenly there was the last ramp up. Nothing too serious but enough for me to just spin to the top where sure enough Chris came up beside me. He explained he got caught behind a car that stalled at the critical point on the hairpins so he had to stop and get off. So if only by default, I got one climb ahead of him but it was 9-1 in his favour!

All climbing over it was now a descent back to Darley Dale and the finish. Fast narrow with some sharp turns at two junctions allowed you to recover. I waited for Chris at the bottom as we broke out onto the main road for a short 1/2 mile or so back to the finish.

I had one scary moment in turning right making a manoeuvre I perhaps should not have done but was tired and back in to the finish to dab the dibber to finish.

We both went into the hall to pick up our times where we both received a bronze certificate. It was about us getting round the course today nothing special. An event time of 3hrs 29 for 39 miles tells you all you need to know about the ride with 1,700m of climbing but more importantly 3 more 100 climbs ticked off. That’s 20 down just another 80 to go!

Finish certificate

We made ourselves a coffee and had you’ve guessed it more of that cake to recover before meeting up with our family to end the ride. Edward my son turned and said that we both looked absolutely spent and was smirking to himself but I felt fine or better than after other rides! Thanks son!

This event is really good and well run in a picturesque part of the world and just a shame that the weather spoilt it. Budget in price it maybe but packs a brilliant, if exhausting experience that I would love to go back and do again now that I know the perils before you. Also what is right up my street is that although they keep the same hills they vary the route between and around them.

Now will that be my last ride of the season?

https://www.strava.com/activities/1231169430/embed/fb7708ddad31c94e1ff07fa243c7d9842f958841

My thanks to the providers of the photos from Stanton Lees onwards from Google images and the event organisers signage signs, the rest are my own.

Leave a comment