Gospel calling

The Black Rat is a friendly ride that I have ridden before and last time some 2 or 3 years ago was from Clifton Rugby club. I like rides that change their routes and the Black Rat certainly has done that, initially a Mendips ride to the 3 bridges and now from Thornbury near Bristol into Wales.

I had signed up for the long 100 miles route that would take in the Gospel pass, the highest road pass in Wales and near Hay on Wye in the Brecon Beacons. It is one of the “Another 💯 Greatest climbs” but only if done the opposite way, that would be our descent. The bonus at the finish is that Black Rat is a maker of that liquid that Somerset is famous for, cider, lovely jubbly.

I had also arranged to meet other riders from DACE, Devon Amateur Cycling Enthusiasts who I had ridden with recently and also Paul Mortimer from Greenover another Torbay based cycling group. Diane could also go and visit Edward in Newport, as I indulged myself.

Meeting at Cullompton services, we drove up to Marlwood School where I got my number 077 and timing chip that was quite old school rather than the label to the helmet, but heyho!

I was ready early to let Diane go off before the start but I looked for the others but couldn’t see them. I decided to set off as if I had missed them well that was ok but knew they would catch me if I left before them.

A very short briefing about potholes, I was off in quite a large group turning right onto the road that would lead us to Aust and the old Severn bridge. It is a gentle descent on largely traffic free roads and I settled in quite happy though felt myself coughing regularly.

As we got to the bridge I saw a guy riding in a Maratona jersey and as we bunched up to negotiate the path up to the bridge and the metal barriers, I chatted to him about that ride. I must return there to experience the best event again.

Big bunch in front

On the way to the bridge on the tree line

Slip road to the bridge

I know this bit like the back of my hand and I was thankful the weather was pleasant.  Though there was a wind nothing too strenuous and the views were good down to the second bridge.

Over the Severn

New Severn Bridge in the distance

The Severn crossing is also on RAB from last year and is a treat to ride. We all concertinaed at the calming measures to take the cycle path into Wales and Monmouthshire before the descent to the middle of Chepstow.

Into Monmouth

Lights in Chepstow

We were only 5 or 6 miles into the ride but we were quite a bunch. At the lights I knew we turned left and chose the right gear as it was a climb to the top roundabout, whereas RAB we go straight on under the walled arch to the castle.

When the lights turned green I forged to the front to get a good position as we climbed up to the roundabout to take the road past the racecourse and onwards towards Tintern.

Chepstow Racecourse

It was now I felt a bit sluggish but kept going as we turned off at St Arvans an hit a short punchy climb up out of Chepstow on our way to Devauden. I found myself coughing my insides up. From on high someone walking shouted “Go on lad get it up!” as I climbed up to much merriment from riders behind mainly Portishead CC who were ubiquitous.

I got to the top and was on the undulating road to Devauden that was punctuated by many a climb that was easy but telling on the legs. As I rode up one, I recognised a white shirt with black and green trim come past me. It was the DACE boys so I said hello and tagged along as I had intended.

Nice undulating road

Chepstow Park Wood

As usual I found myself in the position I always like second or third wheel but we motored along and saw one field full of bluebells, they are a picture at the moment wherever you go. Fields are mauve as opposed to blue. Interspersed with these fields were the local wooded sections such as Chepstow Park Woods and with sky blue with wispy clouds, it was brilliant.

On the front

Bluebells

All too soon we turned left towards Raglan plunging to the floor from the ridge down passing villages of Llanishen before hitting Raglan. The valley floor was into a headwind, awkward energy sapping in the main.

Raglan

I remember coming to Raglan as a young boy to see the castle nearby that was poking out of the hedge.  Wales has a rich history of castles that were built around the Norman times but this was built at a later time around 1500 and perhaps this is one of the lesser known ones. I couldn’t stop today as we turned off the roundabout and on to the motorcycle freeway to Usk and Abergavenny where as usual bikers came passed revving their engines.

Raglan Castle

The problem I now encountered was that Paul, Andy and Dan appeared to drop me somewhere, where Oz, Gavin and Mike were behind. Try as I might I couldn’t bridge to the front three. I should have dropped off and ridden with the others but my pride got the better of my common sense as usual and it was tough riding into the wind.

Can’t catch them

In the distance we could see the imminent problem of the Brecon Beacons. At least they were looking good in the conditions and we were soon taking the short descent into the gateway to them Abergavenny and the first feed station.

The feed wasn’t too bad but heaving with all the riders since we hadn’t really spread out. That generally occurs after the first feed.

Suitably refreshed we started off again up the high street and now for the next 15 to 20 miles a steady climb to the top of Gospel Pass.

Abergavenny High Street

The road snaked through the centre and included one set of temporary lights where we decided to go cross country on the pavement. On takin* a right turn we started a sharp climb with calming measures that past King Henry VI school. I wasn’t prepared for this one and found it tough with my head just full of my cold. Anyway I made it up and the road significantly narrowed to a country lane.

Travelling as a group we carried on being sucked further  and further into the valley. We turned left after a road closure to a single track road that would take us all the way to the top. This road wasn’t difficult to ride but twisted, turned short inclines, S bends you name it it was there. Complete with potholes and shingle in the middle and side made for tricky riding on a relentless incline, but only 3% average that was quite taxing. I was reminded of Glenshee but this was more claustrophobic , hedges interspersed with forest trees punctuated by the odd hamlet.

At one point Mike caught a puncture and stopped but Dan, Gavin and myself carried on so as not to lose momentum as we perhaps would be the slower riders.

Gavin and I just chatted away to pass the time and take our mind off it and at one point we came across 3 riders with full panniers and touring bikes. It took an age to catch and pass them we were so weary of the climb, well I was anyway.

After we past through Capel-y-ffin with its wooden chapel and one building the road seemed to ramp slightly and we broke out onto the open moorland, more exposed with very few trees but plenty of the usual suspects you would find in these parts 🙂

Struggling up the exposed parts

Familiar Welsh being

As the gradient increased I became more laboured and zig-zagged slightly up to the cattle grid that really did signify the exposed landscape. Every breath was followed by a cough as I ground out the climb ’til the gradient eased. However you could now see the long narrow road winding its way to a cleft in the hills above. Was this the top?

Barren and still going to the top?

Where we’d come from

The road was quite a good surface but revealed a long steady line of cyclists labouring ever onwards and upwards.

At a layby I stopped to take some pictures and a guy said go further on.

There’s more?

On I ploughed to the gap and saw Dan and Gavin waiting at the side where I joined them and the view was stunning to the flatter English lands in the distance if only that the sunny was shining without a cloud in the sky.

View from the top

Waiting at the top

Here and not for long we waited for the others to catch us up where Oz took a photo of us all. What an effort after 1 hour and 15mins of climbing. I just wished I wasn’t feeling as I did so I could have enjoyed it more.

DACE at the top of Gospel Pass

After a brief stop for water and food we set off on the long descent before us. I quite brilliant road. Though narrow being so high you could see where it was going all the way for a good mile and a half. With no traffic coming up at this point you just let the wheels flow here.

Gospel descent

I lead for part of the way, though fancied stopping at the ice cream van before I was passed by Oz and a couple of other riders just before the road plummeted down through the tree line. I shaved my pace off and that was a godsend.

One of the riders to pass me suddenly came across mad BMW driver coming the other way who did not relent in his speed on a single track road. Boy how he survived not crashing and going head first over the top I do not know. we all gave the driver what for into his window that was wound down but typically he didn’t care.

We hit a triangle junction where we needed to turn right but the road was full of shingle and we overshot the turn and found ourselves all in the wrong gear to hit a steepish climb. I had to go back down to turn around to engage the right gear to find I was now lagging behind all the others. I could see Gavin just ahead and tried to keep him in view. The problem was the road was like the climb up Gospel, it twisted and turned with hidden little horrible climbs. I would lose Gavin as he crested the tops and I made it up or round bends but catch up as I hit the next one.

Still we had turned for the long drag home to Bristol. I was feeling sh!t now and with hindsight should not have ridden as the road finally levelled or had a semblance of going down the valley.

Homeward bound

Away from Hay-on-Wye

The clouds looked ominous where we were heading and as we turned right found myself descending quickly to an almighty steep hill at Craswall. Not nice but at the top of the 100 yards or so were the DACE boys just by an old telephone box. I stopped and slumped over the front and Andy said “Alright?” ” Just” I replied to which Gavin responded ” Here you are the first number is 9!” To which one of the others replied ” the last is 9″. Banter or what and I couldn’t help smiling.

After waiting, I followed Gavin in second wheel down the valley further until we got to Longtown and the second feed stop. The problem was we hit a superb downhill that we felt was the reward for all the hard work and halfway down it was the feed stop. We slammed the brakes on before heading in to the field come driveway to replenish but knowing that what was coming was the long drag home to finish the ride off.

Starting off again we almost missed the turn sign in Longtown but on we ploughed. I really was starting to suffer and though I kept up could feel it would last for long every climb was taking its toll on me. Whilst the others weren’t motoring up them they were significantly quicker apart from Gavin who like before was just tantalisingly in front of me. It was good to have him as a marker. Every time I did catch up he asked it I was ok but I just kept on turning the wheels.

As I struggled up another of the hidden gems I was passed by a guy who said “Is that last year’s shirt?”. ” Yes” I said to a rider who was obviously a fellow RABer. We chatted briefly and I said I was going back again in September. ” Good on you” he replied.

I was prepared to just ride now not to take photos as the road was quite a fast one where you felt that cars would be travelling. I did laugh out loud as I passed the local pub in Ewyas Harald called the “Dog Inn” that nobody else saw.

Crossing the main A465, having regrouped at temporary lights, we immediately hit a climb that was gentle before ramping up again and I just struggled. I had nothing in my legs at all to even think about a concerted effort.  I had thoughts about whether I could complete my forthcoming rides and for first the first time doubts about RAB in September I felt that bad. Mike suddenly appeared from behind me and he had stopped to visit a hedge if you get my drift. Anyway he stayed with me for a bit as we caught Gavin, before he powered on to the others in front and left Gavin and me to it.

As before I kept Gavin in my sights as the road undulated and turned on its way to Monmouth. It was a quick road that despite my condition was a joy. I kept looking at the signs for the mileage to Monmouth and pleasantly surprised how I was travelling.

Before long I was on a thunderous descent into Monmouth with Gavin in front. I knew now whatever strength I had would be tested. Fortunately the traffic in Monmouth wasn’t too bad but we turned right before the main A449 and over a bridge over said road to take us to the last big climb of the day, Trellech. It takes you back up to the ridge at Devauden and remember this having ridden the Wye Valley warrior 7 years ago. Long at 2 miles a relentless gradient with an S bend in the middle you can see it veering off to the right.

I just sat in and pedalled the best I could. I was spurred on by riders who passed me but I kept up with them apart from a young lady in an Oxford University CC top. She went up effortlessly. I swung left and on to the right hand bend where the event photographer was before tackling the worst bit of the climb, a long, long, long steady gradient into the wooded section about 3/4rs of a mile away. The problem was that there must have been a BMW car show or day out as we seemed to be passed by around 20 to 30 of them all flash, convertibles and i8 roadsters accelerating with loud exhausts. They were an absolute pain I can tell you when you have nothing to give but head down , feeling low and grinding out the gradients.

Eventually into the trees I rode with Gavin in sight but he turned off left at a junction and I shouted to him he was going wrong. Turns out he stopped for a drink and on I went ever upwards just trying to do the best I could. I saw a sign for Trellech at 2 miles and thought right a little effort now as the last feed station would be in the village hall opposite the church.

It was the same place as the Wye Valley Warrior ride from 2012. I was just glad to rest for a bit with the good humour with the others. After 5 mins or so and stocking up with water we set off along the undulating ridge back to Chepstow. On high there was a very ominous dark cloud in the sky right where we were headed.

I kept up with the crew until the first serious incline and found myself pedalling at the back again. I was so disappointed with myself as I kept coughing along the road. Devauden came and went as did many a field and hedge and I found that Mike dropped off from the group as it was his first 100mile ride since October and we rode on together in fact until the end. It was good to have some company.

I felt the first smattering of rain and became worried as the cloud had got darker. I said to Mike we should see the bridge soon but we had to get over that hill in front somehow. Just as I said it the rain became harder so we stopped to put our rain jackets on before dropping down on to what would be a fast road through a wooded section. However the roads had become a river with the torrent that down rained down on us as we both gingerly descended down with the inevitable queue of cars behind us. My feet despite some oversocks were now wet and squelchy inside my best riding shoes. I was annoyed bigtime.

All of a sudden we found ourselves on the short climb up towards Chepstow racecourse where we turned right and passed on down the main road towards the bridge again. Here the roads were as dry as a bone as if no rain was around. Talk about an isolated shower.

Mike and I helped each other along and before I forgot thanked him for staying with me. The Severn tide had go out as we crested the middle and dropped down to the road we rode out on. The problem now was with wet feet, tired generally uncomfortable we had to turn off the road and onto Tockington for one last climb, Old Hill. I didn’t know it nor what to expect but why do this? You’ve done 95+ miles with some long climbing and you out this in there.

Anyway turning left we rode up it and it wasn’t too bad at around 300m long but annoying at this stage of the ride. At the top we turned right and knew there was about a mile to go. I just coasted along with Mike aching for the finish.

It was a short ride after a left hand to the school where I entered the finish area and crossed the line to see the others sat down with their end of ride fare. Normally a pasty but today a choice of sausage roll or scotch egg from a local butcher. Have to say it wasn’t bad but more importantly, I got my finisher’s mug ( not a glass tankard this year :-() and filled it not once but twice with Black Rat cider. Lovely :-).

Black Rat Mug

We sat down chatting for a short while talking about the ride before heading off home. As I look back I did enjoy it and in the end quite pleased with my overall time of 7 hours 7mins albeit my overall time was longer with feed stops, stopping at the top of Gospel Pass and potential 999 call stops! I thought I was much longer but then riding in a group does help even if I was suffering. Perhaps I was riding at my normal pace overall I don’t know but just hope I can shake my cold before my next adventures.

Thanks to the DACE crew and Paul Mortimer for a really good ride and hope we shall ride again soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment