Black or Drowned Rat

I was looking forward to the Black Rat Sportive as it was scheduled to be the reverse of the 2019 event and would take in the Gospel Pass again. Sadly an email two weeks before the event advised that the Welsh government were not playing ball. Thanks🤬 They would not allow cycle groups of more than 6 so the organisers arranged hastily a new route through the Cotwolds. You could defer if you liked but what the heck I thought. I knew some of the area let’s do it. My weekend cycling buddy Chris decided not to.

I was looking forward to the Granfondo route that would take us from Thornbury near Bristol out to Bourton on the Water via Dursley, Stroud and Cirencester and back again. However late afternoon on the Saturday we received another apologetic email stating owing to safety concerns that the Granfondo was cancelled and only the Medio was available. Recent weather created water filled potholes on some sections and therefore they could not guarantee rider safety. Still at 73 miles or so this would be good for RAB training. I was just hoping the weather would be kind as it was scheduled to rain for long periods on the day and we could get drenched.

So off I went on Sunday to meet Neil who I rode the Flyer with and Mike Lister who I met on the Black Rat in 2019 and used to commute to work with until COVID got in the way. I was annoyed that I couldn’t get a caffeine hit on the way as the drive through wasn’t open. Not a good start, what else could go wrong? 😩

I arrived at Marlwood School Thornbury at 7.30 where I registered for the ride no 144 and was given a Black Rat COVID mask, not that I was going to wear it. I use my cycling neck buff for that! I then found Neil and Mike before we walked to the start.

With fellow RABer Neil

A short briefing to remind us of the course split and a nasty gravel section we were soon on our way as a three off towards the Severn bridge on a quick road that descends to the Levels. The route however after a mile or so turns right and up the Levels inland. These roads were twisting and turning passing through little hamlets with picturesque houses; hedge lined roads with short little inclines. I kept thinking of the hamlets as old Saxon settlements and who had decided to settle here in the past as we motored a long.

Twisty lanes with Neil In front and Mike

As we broke out into the open you could see a church standing proud on a hill in the distance, however Neil encountered a problem with his chain that he stopped for whilst I coasted to a stop a little further on. An old man was walking the other way and I asked him the name of the church but he was mesmerised by the number of cyclists and flabbergasted when I told him that there 500 or so and where we were going.

Open land on the Levels


Olbury on Severn church

Little did I know that we were cycling right passed the church through Oldbury on Severn but as you know I like the style of our different churches around the country this was a nice one.

Whilst cycling along wee were chatting about all things RAB, Zwift though Mike likes RGT a different indoor cycling platform. We were cycling towards Berkeley and its castle. If you know your history it saw the demise of Edward II and as rumour has it, it wasn’t a pleasant end, a red hot poker was used. was looking forward to a photo hopefully.

The good thing about the Levels is that you can really travel quickly and eat up the miles and this we were doing with aplomb. We wanted to ride at a social pace as opposed to smashing it but we were ever mindful that we wanted to get as much of the ride done before the expected rain came.

We started to rise up off the Levels at Berkeley but I never got a good sight of the castle. We turned right in the village centre and started the long road to Cirencester.

Short rise into Berkeley
Berkeley church
Leaving Berkeley

A short descent out of Berkeley lead us towards a roundabout where there was a Marshall who I thanked but at the same time we were passed by around 8 or nine riders from the same club, Skeleton something, who were riding almost as a chain gang.
Mike said he didn’t understand why they rode like that. You can do a normal club ride instead.

The road lead us to the old A38 where we turned left and saw the Skeleton chain gang smashing it off into the distance. The problem now was we would start climbing up into the Cotswolds, not before a rider came passed us wearing a number 7. He was on a club time trial event and I realised the marshal I saw previously and thanked wasn’t our event.

We shared the load on the front and soon turned off the A38, over the M5 and hit the first climb of the day, Tait’s Hill. Not particularly difficult but I was slower than the other two. I laboured a little and did up the climbs on the day. Whether still the effects of my second COVID had some 48hrs earlier I don’t know but it was worrying me for the rest of the day.
We were on our way to Dursley but as I crested the top I passed a couple of riders that encouraged me before a flatter section where I used my speed to catch the other two who had coasted til I caught up.

Looking back over my shoulder to the Levels and the Severn

The crest of the hill also gave us a descent to the village of Cam where Neil stopped to take his gloves off. This is becoming a feature of any ride with Neil it seems. Mike and I carried on and waited for him round a corner before he caught us up. Opposite was a road that seemed to lead to some exclusive houses.

Neil catching up

Setting off again we passed opposite a garden centre that was called “Leaf and Ground”. I reckoned that was a good name for a cafe stop.

The road now meandered to Dursley and was noticeably busier with cars. We turned right towards the town centre and on our left was a sports field with a junior game. The centre of Dursley was typical of an old market town with its church and stone arched buildings of yesteryear. My over the shoulder photo tried to capture it.

Dursley church
Doesn’t do it justice

As we exited the town we rose up at a junction and Mike laughed at himself as we passed Lister road, that was a no through road. “My road there, Just like me” he said. My sense of self deprecating humour that, I chuckled with him as the road started to ramp up slightly but ever climbing towards the village of Uley. The climb was straight and a gradient that made you work but manageable. Neil and Mike climbed efficiently and I just sat in passing the houses either side and the odd parked car seeing the church high on my left as the target to the top where I saw the road curve to the left.
As I got to the church I passed a chap on his bike pedalling slowly he was an absolute unit chapeau to him.

Uley church

I passed the Old Crown Inn at the top or what I thought was the top, the road levelled slightly and as I swung round to my left the road ramped up again. Groan. I sat in again and saw the other two some 100m ahead and started to pedal slowly again. I noticed the name of the road “Crawley Lane” very apt for me I thought.

Crawley Hill

I realised that this road was the main one from Dursley to Stroud with so many cars coming passed and braking in front of other riders ahead of me. On I ploughed into the tree lined tunnel not knowing how long this was going to go on for but I was happy as it reminded me of Cothelstone on RAB but without the traffic.

There was a typical forest beauty spot on my left near Nymphsfield that would have been a lovely view back to the Severn but I had other matters in hand. As I got to the top in more open ground I saw Neil and Mike waiting at a lay-by for me with a number of other riders. I cruised passed waving to say come on. I was more content with how I was as we traversed the ridge we were on. On passed the Bristol and Gloucester gliding club I was now on the front pushing a nice tempo passed fields of yellow flowers.

Top of Crawley Hill

I knew that we were nearing a feed stop but also the the descent of Selsley that we had been warned about. The road entered a wooded section and on a straight I saw riders ahead on my left who I thought had had a problem. I was shifting along and suddenly realised this was the feed stop. No warning but I slowed and dived in to what was an entry to the woods. There were helpers dishing out whatever you wanted from the table into a brown bag for you. Good it was too, cake, banana, doughnuts, sausage rolls well I tucked in.

After a nice respite we got going again only to see “the unit” fly past bypassing the stop. As we rode down a hill slightly we broke out onto Selsley Common where a number of people were out walking. I became more circumspect as we were warned. The road was sketchy with shingle and stones that had been deposited on the road following the recent weather. Also you could see Stroud deep in in the valley below on our right.

picking up speed the descent became tricky owing to wet roads, stones, narrow parts and turns as you plummet increasingly more steeply. I was on the brakes before you break out on to a main road and a roundabout. I could hardly see the signage that eas a problem throughout the ride.

You had to have your whits about you as we were in serious town road country. We had to go off right on another roundabout near a Sainsbury’s and I was uncomfortable to say the least. Anyway we carried on and soon made a left turn an immediately started climbing again up the other side of the valley.
Again Mike and Neil went ahead and I “cruised” up it hoping by the time I got to the top the traffic lights would change. Neil and some others passed three or four cars to go to the front while Mike and I waited though I didn’t want to stop. If you started again the gradient would have been quite steep to clip in but on the front easier but a few drivers would be cheesed off; a stick or twist moment. I rode up but checked my pace on the side and waited for the cars to pass when the lights turned green.

The junction called Goldmans Cross was on the main Bath Road that we crossed on to Walkley Hill since we went up again from the off. I passed a grandfather and his grandson walking up the hill. The boy had been to rugby practice in his jersey. I was comfortable just pedalling on up and saw the Prince Albert Inn and the road levelling out, I was happy. That is until I got to the top, turned righteous at the pub only to see more climbing😩

The road now was taking us to Rodborough Common. The gradient steepened and we were into serious territory as the cattle grid came and went and were warned of cows being loose around the place.

Up we go

This climb proved a little problematic being distanced from the others and more cars I was breathing heavily but just forged ahead setting a target point to reach and find the next.
As I broke out of the tree line the road swept to the right and was reminiscent of the final part of the Ditching Beacon climb. Exposed to the wind the road snaked its way across the Common where again Mike and Neil were waiting. Neil took this one of me.

In the valley below to our left was the railway and outlying area of Stroud.

We travelled as a three now further across the common and passed a great looking hotel the Bear of Rodborough. It looked good.

A short rise took us to yet more Common but this was a golf course, which I know not but boy I wouldn’t play it. The fairway was like rough, finding your ball would be interesting and the greens were in deep hollows like extended bunkers, weird but there were golfers playing.

We turned off the road and immediately left where we split from the Piccolo riders and on towards Minchinhampton. The road was quieter and descended to the village but we took this section with ease and climbed out at pace reaching the halfway point of the ride.

Climbing out of Minchinhampton

We had been warned of another sketchy section and as the road passed signage for the golf club you felt it go down and we hit puddles, shingle and all sorts on the road as it plummeted passed a woodland copse. I was very wary here to maintain my balance as I threaded my way down it. At the bottom the road rose sharply and Mike seemed to have taken a shot of EPO or something and he hammered it up and out of sight. Crikey I thought and hit the climb as best I could. Fortuitously it wasn’t long and as I crested the top Mike was waiting in the village of Cherington opposite this stone “monument”. Thoughts what it is anyone?

Anyway we regrouped out of the village onwards to Cirencester and as we picked up speed on a flat section Neil’s chain problem came back and he was stuck in the small ring on the front and would be predominantly for the rest of the ride. He’d have fun spinning his legs for the rest of the ride.😩

The road came to a junction where we turned right and onto the main road to Cirencester that was truly awful with potholes and general bad road conditions. It was in the main downhill too so you picked up speed whilst trying to select the right line. We all moaned about it but this was to last for around 3 miles passed the Agricultural College and on to the next feed station at Deer Park School.

Again the fare was good but this time punctuated with crisps and mini cheddars. Everything was eaten with gay abandon to say the least. Neil heard from the helpers that back at base the rain had arrived. We had ridden 40+ miles to this point so over halfway and needed to move to enable us to get as much over before we encountered it.

I put my rain jacket on and we set off back the way we had come in only this time it was uphill. I chose to sit in behind some other riders to for protection and preserve energy. As turning for home the wind hit us full in the face. This was going to be fun for 30+ miles😩

The route did make a turn left rather than the full climb we had descended but relief was short lived as we hit a steep climb that I laboured up and was out of breath on strangely. We were thankfully off the main trunk road.
Gathering myself we carried on through little villages and on our left near Rodmarton were some Boeing 747’s weird we thought. I later discovered it was Cotswolds Airport where planes are decommissioned.
On a left turn we hit a manicured tree lined route first a kind of tunnel and then spaced like a fresh road. I clocked that one rider was now using us three as a tow into the wind. I don’t mind this but do a turn on the front at some point please. All the while the wind was bracing and doing us no favours at all.

Tree tunnel
Manicured tree line

As we turned right onto the main road to Tetbury the rain started albeit annoyingly rather than full in your face stuff. I was dropped again being 50m or so from the other two as we kept rising uphill on a false flat into the headwind. I still had the leach on my tail. Sadly I couldn’t take anymore photos owing to the weather.

It was an effort to keep going but I wasn’t losing touch which was a plus point. I caught them up at a roundabout junction near Tetbury and we rode through the town bedecked in Cotswold limestone. Traffic was busy but we negotiated it well together with our appendage that was starting to annoy me even more.

Still climbing gently we crossed the Bath road again at a set of lights where the rain was now heavier. A little further on Neil stopped to but his thicker gloves back on and Mike his rain jacket. I put my extra gloves on and doing so our extra rider had to cycle on to save face. He’d had a 25mile tow and did absolutely no work at all, pr@t. Learn some cycling etiquette please.

Having climbed up all the way from Cirencester and needing to descend to the Levels again we soon were encountering the sharp twisting descent to Wooton under Edge. I was on the front on a slippery road in the rain just how I love sorry hate it. I took it very slowly as I didn’t know the line and one sharp bend took me by surprise. I was thankful I made it down ok and apologised to the other two for not speeding down but we all understood.

Having passed through Wooton on our left was a car boot of some sort there weren’t many sellers the smell of a hotdog or something was very appealing. Any such positive thoughts were countered by an extreme moment of madness as we neared Charfield. The road was open but funnelled to a traffic calming measure in the shape of a crossing point. As we approached we heard the revving of an engine behind us. We hit the calming measure to see a dark grey/black Mercedes or Maserati type vehicle with red wheel trim a and blacked out windows speed passed us using the opposite side of the road to overtake. Selfishly I wished that a car had been coming the other way as it was on a slight bend. I cannot believe the stupidity of some people that they can’t wait for 10 or so secs. He probably had a stash of drugs to drop off.

Momentarily shocked as we passed through the village we hit the next climb, short and sharp where I should have taken the cycle path as Mike did but I wasn’t thinking straight. The rain was starting to seep through my biblongs and I was starting to feel uncomfortable I ground out the climb.

We rode along with around 10 miles to go and were blessed to turn right and for the first time in a long while out of the headwind. The relief was palpable and we made better progress though puddles were now all over the road. I did think my bike was getting a free wash though.

We laughed as entering Tytherington we passed the Swan Inn on Duck Street. How appropriate but any smile we had was wiped off our face as the road ramped up again out of the village on up and under the M5 again. I was not happy climbing at this point. However I thought that was it but Neil said no one more according to his gps.

A quick crossing back over the A38 and we hit the signs for Thornbury. Nearly done I thought. A left turn at a roundabout took us on the road back home. However the climb up passed the golf course was the sting in the tail. Plenty of cars, rain, significant gradient and what seemed never ending was climbed with relief before turning right at the cricket club and down Down road and the final turn to the school.

We crossed the finishing line and I just wanted to get out of the rain. Underneath the covering we were able to get a chicken pasta salad that I washed down with some of Somerset’s finest.
Sadly no mug or glass tankard as your reward but I suppose I have a COVID mask!

On the ride and my general state I became worried about my fitness for RAB. However in the cold light of day with my event time of 5hours 28mins for 75miles and Strava telling me this was a harder effort than normal, I think I’m ok 👍

As I drove home the heavens really opened but at least we weren’t drowned rats 🐀 if only wet.

Black Rat done

Leave a comment